So, you’ve decided. You want to go cold turkey from Facebook and reclaim your life. Why not conduct social interactions in person, as opposed to performing on a virtual stage?
Here’s a “How To”, to make the process a little less fraught.
1) From your homepage on Facebook, go to the Account drop-down menu.
2) Click on Help Centre.
3) Type in “how do I permanently delete my account”. Alternately, you’ll find a hyperlink to this question in the Top Questions section down the right-hand side of the page.
4) Facebook will first show you have to deactivate your account (see below), which puts your profile on sleeper mode, out of sight. Half way down the page, click on the link called “To permanently delete with no option of recovery submit your request here”
5) Facebook will process your request and delete your profile permanently.
If you’re not fully committed to deleting your account, you can simply deactivate it. Select “Deactivate Account” from the Account page and your profile and all information associated with it are immediately made inaccessible to other Facebook users. What this means is that you effectively disappear from the Facebook service. However, if you want to reactivate at some point, your profile information, as well as your friends, photos and interests, are saved. Your account will look just the way it did when you deactivated if you decide to reactivate it.